WIP Update

I’ve got good news and bad news. The good news is that I got a mass e-mail from my publishing house and I found out that all I have to do to get a contract for book 2, Song of the Sea, is send the editor this information:

Book Title
Series Title
(# of Book in Series)  ex. Book 2
Brief Synopsis

The bad news is that there’s one plot element that I can’t figure out and it’s the only thing keeping me from writing the synopsis.  For those of you who are wanting to read the series, I don’t want to give anything away, but this plot element is the one thing standing in the way of Mykaela and Dylan being together.

I suppose I could just write the scene I’m thinking of and see what information is revealed. For instance, I didn’t know Mykaela was a ‘Gifted Hunter’ until Morrigan told her in the ‘final battle’ scene of book 1. Sounds crazy, but it’s true! Lol.

Another problem I’m having is the trilogy idea. I’m worried that the story I’ve created in book 2 is bigger than the original three-book idea. In book 2, the Sirens are taking over the Soul of the Sea kingdoms in hopes of eventually taking over Harmony Harbor (and probably, eventually, the rest of the world but I’m not big on ‘saving the world’ story lines, so I’m just going to leave it at Harmony Harbor) With all of the other stuff going on in book 2, I don’t think I can resolve that plot in book 2, which crimps the plot I had planned for book 3. And another problem is with Mykaela. She goes through a lot in book 2, and I don’t think she’ll be ready for a relationship with Dylan by the end of book 2 (which is necessary for book 3’s plot). What to do, what to do?

I could e-mail the editor, tell her the problem I’m having and ask if it would be alright to plan for more than three books. That might take some of the pressure off me to wrap book 2 up in a neat little bow.

In other news, I’ve been working on a ‘fansite’ for Curse of the Sea (the series title). It’s coming along great, I can’t wait until I can purchase my own domain name for it to go live. I’ve got character profiles, mythology links, an ‘about me’ page (of course 😉 ) The only thing missing is a kick-ass flash intro, which is totally above my computer skills. If anybody wants to help…;)

 

Well, there’s my work-in-progress update. I suppose I’ll go try to actually write on it now. Oh, and since Wednesday, I went from 30 pages to 96 pages! It’s coming along very nicely, if I could just get this plot problem sorted out….

Leave a Reply

