Big News

If you’ve found this blog, chances are you’re a friend or family member who already knows this, but I never tire of saying it: I recently signed a contract to let kNight Romance publish my debut novel, Soul of the Sea!

 

I spoke with the Editor in Chief, Tracey Mitchell, on Thursday. She was very nice and had great things to say about the book. She likes the underwater world I’ve created–and appreciated my limited use of dialogue tags (something to keep in mind, writers!) She also asked how old I was–said I had a young voice, hehe.

She said she would assign me an editor, but that she couldn’t get it in front of him until next year. They’re also going to set me up with the marketing department, to help with promotion and getting the book into stores, scheduling signings and everything. When I asked when I should start building my website (because I plan a pretty comprehensive and interactive website for the book) she said January would be a good start. By the looks of things, the process will really start rolling around then. And come to think of it, that’s really not that far away!

One major concern I had was the fact that this book is part one of a trilogy, but the contract only mentioned book one. When I asked Tracey Mitchell (Tracey? Ms. Mitchell? What’s appropriate to use here?! :p) if she was interested in the trilogy, she said she wanted to see how things go with book 1, Soul of the Sea, first, but that yes, she  was interested in publishing the trilogy. Basically, she just wants to sign the books one at a time, in case things flop she’s not locked in to a trilogy.

 

So, I’m in for a lot of promoting here to ensure the publication of the trilogy, and hopefully the start of a great career. But for now, all I really have to do is write book 2. Yikes!

 

For the second book, now titled Song of the Sea, I have about 16 pages written and a vague outline, with a general idea of how I want it to end. Book 3, now titled Heart of the Sea, is a little more planned than the second one.

 

Oh, and another major thing I have to do now is write and perfect my back cover blurb! I just remembered. The blurb-describing the book to attract readers–is due two weeks from signing the contract, and while I have a good start from the query letter I used, I’m nervous and confused about what approach to take. Maybe I should e-mail the editor?

 

I’m so excited and my mind is racing with thoughts that follow this pattern:

I can’t believe it’s finally happening!

When will I know who my assigned editor is?

I can’t believe it’s finally happening!

Did I make a big mistake signing the contract?

What’s going into my blurb?

I can’t wait to throw a book launch party! Where should I host it?

Where should I get my Author Photo taken? And should I get my hair/makeup professionally done before?

  • Author Photo?! As in a picture of ME–within the pages of MY book! Wow.

I can’t believe it’s finally happening!

When will I get my cover art? I can’t wait to see it!

When should I call up that English teacher who always believed in me?

It’s happening! It’s happening!

 

So….yeah…I’m excited, can you tell?

 

Leave a Reply

